Skip to content
Home » Cruise Tips » Guide to Halal Haram Products/Ingredients

Guide to Halal Haram Products/Ingredients

Guide to Halal Haram Products/Ingredients

To eat what is acceptable, Muslims must understand the difference between halal and haram ingredients. Furthermore it is hard to tell if an ingredient is halal or not because most are labeled by their chemical name. As a result, this article makes determining if an ingredient is halal or haram much easier and easy guide to halal haram products/ingredients.

Disclaimer: Please note, we are not able nor qualified to make any Fatawas on halal or haram. Any questions should be addressed to the Halal Foundations or some other qualified individual(s).

Absolute Haram

Haram ingredients
  • Bacon
  • Ham
  • Sausage
  • Lard (Shortening from Pig Fat)
  • Animal Fat
  • Gelatin

Related: Airlines With Halal Menu Options

Doubtful (may be derived from animal/vegetable or contain alcohol)

Haram ingredients

Some ingredients that are questionable fall in between halal and haram. Animal-derived substances and alcohol may or may not be present in these ingredients. The source of the suspect ingredient will have to be confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • Emulsifier
  • Lecithin
  • Dough conditioners
  • Mono and diglycerides
  • Enzymes or rennet in cheese
  • Artificial and imitation extracts and flavorings (may contain alcohol)

Related: Travel Guard Insurance

List of Halal Haram Products/Ingredients


  1. Read the ingredients on label carefully. Ingredients are listed according to the amounts present.
  2. Identify the Halal/Haram/Mushbooh status of each ingredient using this guide.
  3. If all ingredients of a product are halal, the product is fit for Muslim consumption, if any of the ingredients is haram, the product should not be consumed.
  4. If any ingredient falls under Mushbooh category avoid this product, as the Prophet (SAW) has advised us to avoid doubtful matters. This ingredient could come from a haram source. To find out the status of this ingredient you should write or call the manufacturer of the product.
Halal / Haram ingredients

Download Short Easy Guide For Halal Food Items

Here is a short easy guide for halal food items that you can download and use it.

Cruise Critic